Citizens of which countries have a right to buy property in Turkey?

Citizens of which countries have a right to buy property in Turkey?

If we talk specifically about the CIS nations, then, first of all, citizens of Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, as well as citizens of Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan can buy real estate in Turkey. At the same time, Russians and Ukrainians can buy apartments, houses and land in any part of Turkey, with the exception of 18 cities that are located on the Black Sea coast, and it is not even need to apply for a residence permit to buy a home.

Currently, Turkish legislation prohibits buying real estate only for citizens of 6 countries - Armenia, Cuba, North Korea, Nigeria, Syria and Yemen. Citizens of a number of other countries, including India, Iraq, Iran and Palestine, must obtain a special permit from the Ministry of Internal Affairs or Foreign Affairs in Turkey to purchase real estate.

There are also restrictions on citizens of China, Israel, Denmark, Fiji and East Timor, who can purchase no more than one apartment in the country.

For citizens of other countries, there may also be their own restrictions. For example, Greeks cannot buy property in Turkey off the coast of the Aegean Sea, while Georgians cannot buy property in coastal and border waters. Likewise, citizens of Afghanistan, Egypt, Latvia and Morocco are not allowed to purchase agricultural land, vegetable gardens and vineyards, while residents of Albania can only own residential real estate and office premises.

Note that citizens of most countries, especially Western ones, can buy real estate in Turkey with almost no restrictions. Among them, for example, USA, Canada, UK, Germany, France, Italy, Switzerland, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Bulgaria, Brazil, Argentina, Dominican Republic, etc.

  • Share